Night Scenes: Roppolo’s

 

Night Scenes- Roppolo'sTake a walk down the 6th Street entertainment district in Austin, Texas and you will find a variety of food stands including a few walk up pizza spots. A staple to the area is Roppolo’s Pizzeria. It’s a business with family roots that has been serving Austin for the past 25 years.  This is one of 2 separate locations on 6th street serving up pizza to bar goers and visitors.

On this occasion I went out purposefully to work on my night photography. Night scenes without a tripod are challenging to me and I am still trying to grow in capturing the best quality images. I across this scene on a Saturday evening just before 6th street got busy.  A country musician grabbing a slice of pizza with someone. Perhaps, a quick bite before a show with his significant other, friend, band member?  Who knows? It’s always nice to see people engaging with each other, and not glued to their phones. Especially, when they are from different walks of life such as here.

While the Fuji XPRO2 & 23mm prime lens I use have great capabilities with higher ISO; they do not have any built image stabilization. I’ve had it for about 6 months, and I am still learning it. Low light means practicing & failing a bit as I want to keep the ISO as low as possible, but still get a good exposure. One area of opportunity that I found for me is to practice shooting at lower shutter speeds handheld. This can be a challenge with movement, but also because I still have a fear factor at times. This results in me rushing the shot which can often lead to missing it altogether.

I am also still trying to find my signature black and white editing look. As in this shot I lean toward a higher contrast image results. It’s a work in progress but I am overall pleased with how this shot came out.  Like anything else in life getting better at photography means practice! It means learning your gear, getting out, and learning about light. These are beneficial to know when the light fades, and the next night scene comes.

Details:

 

  • Fujifilm X-Pro2, XF23mmF1.4 R
  • ƒ/1.4
  • 23.0 mm
  • 1/125
  • ISO 2000
  • Edited in LR 6

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

