SXSW: The Gunfighter

SXSW- The Gunfighter

It’s SXSW 2017 and 6th street is shutdown for the event. As you walk down the street you will see crowds gathered around street performers in various locations. Some old and some new. I walk east and come across “The Gunfighter” standing on his podium; ready to draw his revolvers. As usual, there is a crowd of people with their choice of camera taking pictures. As usual, I want to grab an image that is hopefully different from the others. I walk around but can’t see one at the moment. So I walk over to the sidewalk and look around. I wait a few minutes for the current crowd disperse and I see this!

What appears to be his son sitting behind the performer eating goldfish crackers and watching something on his smartphone. It spoke volumes to me!

OK, getting a little personal here, but I never had a dad. He left when I was about a year old, and I only saw him a few times in my life. This image speaks to the deepest desires of any child. Boys in particular. Having a Father that will stand in front of you ready to defend & protect you. To see it with your own eyes demonstrated, and to give you the confidence they are there at all times. Perhaps, so that you can sit on a street filled with strangers, eat goldfish, and wait with your Dad “The Gunfighter” to do his performance. And bring in some some good tips no doubt.

For all that would cry child neglect I have to note that later I walked by and the boy had moved to the front of his dad, and I believe that his mom showed up. But he was just fine the whole time.

Details:

 

  • Fujifilm X-Pro2, XF23mmF1.4 R
  • ƒ/4.0
  • 23.0 mm
  • 1/500
  • ISO 800
  • Edited in LR6 & Luminar

 

Leave a Reply

